Upcycling Crafty Sunday

Image Posted on Updated on

20140126-114849.jpg

It’s rainy Sunday, and it calls for a bit of crafty work. I’ve had this old side lamp for years and years, and although it survived at least 3 moves, it was still working fine, and somehow I love it. The base is this tacky lacquer lemon colour, and the lamp shade also seen better days. As I like the nautical / beach theme, I decided to upcycle lamp with this theme.
First I have painted the base using Annie Sloan “Buttermilk” colour. With the lamp shade, I have decided to glue an old roll of rattan string I’ve had lying around. It’s in a cream colour, which worked perfectly for this night lamp. I have started from the very bottom, moving slowly bit by bit, applying dots of the fabric glue along, every 1cm. Then I have tightly applied the rattan string, making sure that it sticks closely at the bottom. The work was coming along nicely, and I’m very pleased with the results. If only the rattan hasn’t run out mid-way, it would be ideal. But there you go, it still looks nice, and I shall upload the results soon!

Leave a Reply

